Blogs

Gold iPad or Gold Galaxy Tab? Leronza’s Seven Gold Tablets Compared

24K gold Samsung Galaxy Tab S9 Ultra tablet with plated back

Leronza sells gold tablets from two makers: four Apple iPads and three Samsung Galaxy Tabs. Both ranges get the same 5 to 7 micron plating in 24K Gold, Rose Gold or Platinum, and the finish never changes the price. The real differences are which generation of tablet sits under the metal, how much you can configure, and whether you can send in a tablet you already own. This guide puts all seven side by side using the live listings. Prices on this page update automatically from the shop.

5–7 micronsplating thickness on both ranges
3 finishes, 1 price24K Gold, Rose Gold and Platinum cost the same
1–2 weekscustomisation time before shipping

All seven gold tablets, side by side

Every price below includes a new tablet. The screen sizes and chips for the iPads come from Leronza’s product pages, which quote Apple’s own specifications. The Galaxy Tab screen sizes come from Samsung’s published figures for the Tab S9 series (summarised on Wikipedia’s Galaxy Tab S9 page), because Leronza’s Tab listings do not give them.

Gold tablet Base device Screen Storage on the listing Price with a new device
Gold iPad mini iPad mini (A17 Pro), Wi-Fi + Cellular 8.3-inch 256GB only $ 4,290
Gold iPad iPad (A16), Wi-Fi + Cellular 11-inch 256GB only $ 4,390
Gold Galaxy Tab S9 Samsung Galaxy Tab S9 11.0-inch Not stated $ 4,250
Gold iPad Air iPad Air (M4), Wi-Fi + Cellular 11-inch or 13-inch 256GB, 512GB, 1TB $ 4,590 to $ 5,140
Gold Galaxy Tab S9 Plus Samsung Galaxy Tab S9+ 12.4-inch Not stated $ 5,250
Gold iPad Pro iPad Pro (M5), Wi-Fi + Cellular 11-inch or 13-inch 512GB, 1TB, 2TB $ 5,090 to $ 6,190
Gold Galaxy Tab S9 Ultra Samsung Galaxy Tab S9 Ultra 14.6-inch Not stated $ 5,850

Each Galaxy Tab listing has a single price, and the only choice is the finish. The iPad Air and iPad Pro listings let you choose size and storage, and each step changes the price.

Three differences that matter more than the price

1. The generation under the gold

The four gold iPads are built on Apple’s current models: the iPad Pro with M5, the iPad Air with M4, the iPad mini with A17 Pro and the iPad with A16. The gold Galaxy Tabs are built on the Tab S9 series. Samsung unveiled the Tab S9, S9+ and S9 Ultra in July 2023, and the Tab S10 replaced them. Gold plating doesn’t change what is inside, so the Galaxy Tabs give you a 2023-generation tablet in a 2026 finish. That suits buyers who want the look or the large Android screen. It is a poor choice if you also want the newest processor.

2. How much you can configure

The iPad Pro listing offers two sizes and three storage tiers. The iPad Air offers two sizes and three tiers. The iPad and iPad mini have one configuration each. The Galaxy Tab listings name the model and finish but not the storage or whether the tablet has cellular. If storage or 5G matters to you, confirm both with Leronza before you order. Every gold iPad on the site is Wi-Fi + Cellular with 5G over eSIM.

3. Sending in a tablet you already own

The iPad listings have a Use my own device option, and there is a separate Customise Your iPad page. Plating an iPad you already own costs $ 3,690, and that price is the same for every iPad model. The Galaxy Tab listings have no such option. If you want to send in your own Samsung tablet, ask first rather than posting it. The guide to customising your Apple Watch, iPad, Mac or AirPods explains how the send-in route works for the devices it covers.

Worked example: the biggest screen for the money

Suppose you want the largest gold tablet and have no preference between iOS and Android. These are the 13-inch-and-up options with a new device:

Option Screen Storage Price
Gold iPad Air 13-inch 13-inch 256GB $ 4,790
Gold iPad Pro 13-inch 13-inch 512GB $ 5,390
Gold iPad Pro 13-inch 13-inch 1TB $ 5,790
Gold Galaxy Tab S9 Ultra 14.6-inch Not stated $ 5,850
Gold iPad Pro 13-inch 13-inch 2TB $ 6,190

At October 2026 listing prices, the Tab S9 Ultra costs more than a 13-inch iPad Pro at 1TB and less than one at 2TB. It has the largest screen in either range, at 14.6 inches. If you mainly want screen area, that is its strongest point. If you want the newer chip or more storage choices, the 13-inch iPad Air costs less and the iPad Pro has more options. If you already own a 13-inch iPad, plating it for $ 3,690 is the lowest-cost way to get a large gold screen.

Before you order either range: Leronza’s iPad pages warn that a plated metal surface can slightly reduce Wi-Fi and cellular reception. On models that support Apple Pencil Pro, it can also affect the pencil’s magnetic pairing and charging along the edge. The Galaxy Tab listings say nothing either way about the S Pen or reception. The Tab S9 series shipped with an IP68 rating. Leronza’s send-in guide says you should not assume a manufacturer’s warranty or water-resistance rating carries over unchanged once a device has been opened for plating. If any of these points matters to you, ask before you buy.

Which one should you choose?

Choose a gold Galaxy Tab if…

  • you use Android and want the S Pen
  • a 12.4-inch or 14.6-inch screen matters more than the newest chip
  • you want a single-price listing with only the finish to choose
  • it is a gift, and the leather presentation box the Tab listings describe is part of the appeal

Choose a gold iPad if…

  • you want Apple’s current chips (M5, M4, A17 Pro or A16)
  • you need a specific storage size or screen size
  • you already own an iPad and only want it plated
  • you want the smallest gold tablet, the 8.3-inch iPad mini

Whichever you choose, the terms are the same. You pay a 50% deposit or the full amount up front (see how payment works). Leronza allows about 1 to 2 weeks for the plating, then ships with complimentary insured, tracked delivery, and a signature is required on arrival. The customisation has a 2-year warranty; the warranty guide lists what voids it. Each piece is made to order, so returns are not accepted.

For a closer look at the four iPad models alone, read the gold iPad guide. To see both ranges as they are listed, browse the Gold Samsung Galaxy Tab and Gold Apple iPads categories. If you are buying for a team or client, the corporate gifts guide covers ordering several pieces.

Questions buyers ask

Is a gold Galaxy Tab cheaper than a gold iPad?
It depends on the model. With a new device included, the entry Gold Galaxy Tab S9 is $ 4,250, the gold iPad mini is $ 4,290 and the everyday gold iPad is $ 4,390. Plating an iPad you already own costs $ 3,690, which is less than any of them.
Which Samsung tablet is used for the gold Galaxy Tab?
The Galaxy Tab S9 series: the Tab S9, Tab S9+ and Tab S9 Ultra. Samsung unveiled them in July 2023, and the Tab S10 series has since replaced them. The plating covers the aluminium body, and the internal hardware is left as Samsung made it.
Can I send in my own Samsung tablet to be gold plated?
The Galaxy Tab listings do not offer a send-in option, unlike the iPad listings. Contact Leronza at sales@leronza.com or on WhatsApp at +971 4 330 9600 before posting a tablet.
Does gold plating affect the Apple Pencil or S Pen?
Leronza’s iPad pages say a plated metal finish can slightly affect wireless performance, including Apple Pencil Pro’s magnetic pairing and charging on models that support it. The Galaxy Tab listings do not address the S Pen, so ask before ordering if you rely on it.
Does a gold Galaxy Tab keep its IP68 water resistance?
Don’t assume it does. The Tab S9 series shipped with an IP68 rating, but Leronza’s guidance is that a manufacturer’s water-resistance rating should not be assumed to carry over once a device has been opened for plating. Ask Leronza to confirm what applies to the model you order.

Ready to choose your gold tablet?

Compare the gold Galaxy Tabs and gold iPads, or visit the showroom at Showroom 3, Aswar Building, near Business Bay Metro, Dubai (Mon–Sat, 09:00–19:00). You can also reach the team on WhatsApp at +971 4 330 9600.

author-avatar

About Leronza Editorial Team

Leronza is a Dubai-based luxury customization house specializing in 24K gold, rose gold, and platinum finishes for Apple and Samsung devices. Since our founding, our in-house artisans have hand-finished thousands of iPhones, watches, and accessories for collectors worldwide, combining precision craftsmanship with certified precious metals and lifetime warranty support.